DISC 2010 Call For Papers

mars, 17, 2010

Preliminary Call for Papers
24th International Symposium on Distributed Computing
DISC 2010
September 13-15, 2010, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

DISC, the International Symposium on DIStributed Computing, is an international forum on the theory, design, analysis, implementation and application of distributed systems and networks. DISC is organized in cooperation with the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS).


Original contributions to theory, design, analysis, implementation, or application of distributed systems and networks are solicited. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

• Distributed algorithms; correctness and complexity
• Concurrency, synchronization, and transactional memory
• Distributed operating systems, middleware, database systems
• Self-stabilizing, self-organizing, and autonomic systems
• Wireless, mobile, sensor and ad-hoc networks
• Fault tolerance, reliability, availability
• Game-theoretic approaches to distributed computing
• Specification, verification, and testing: tools, methodologies
• Networks: protocols, architectures, services, applications
• Multiprocessor and multicore architectures and algorithms
• Security in distributed computing, cryptographic protocols
• Distributed computing issues in the Internet and the Web


Papers are to be submitted electronically, following the guidelines on the conference web page (to be announced). Every submission must be in English, in .ps or .pdf format, and begin with a cover page (not a cover letter) including: (1) title, (2) authors’ names and affiliations, (3) contact author’s postal address, email address, and telephone number, (4) one paragraph abstract of the paper, (5) indication of whether this is a regular paper or a brief announcement, (6) indication of whether the paper is eligible for best student paper award. A submission for a regular presentation must report on original research that has not previously appeared, and has not been concurrently submitted to a journal or conference with published proceedings. Any overlap with a published or concurrently submitted paper must be clearly indicated. A regular submission must not exceed 10 single-column pages using at least 11 point font on letter paper (excluding cover page and references). Additional details may be included in a clearly marked appendix that will be read at the discretion of the program committee.
A brief announcement submission must not exceed 3 pages in the same format. It is permissible for the material in brief announcements to be published in other conferences.
Submissions not conforming to these rules and papers outside of the scope of the conference will be rejected without consideration.
If requested by the authors on the cover page, a regular submission that is not selected for a regular presentation can be considered for the brief announcement format. Such a request will not affect consideration of the paper for a regular presentation.


The program will include keynote lectures, regular presentations, and brief announcements. Satellite workshops will be held on the day before and the day after DISC. Regular presentations of 25 minutes will be accompanied by papers of up to 15 pages in the proceedings. Brief announcements of 5 to 10 minutes will be accompanied by two page abstracts in the proceedings.


The proceedings will be published as a volume in the Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. Accepted papers must be submitted in the LNCS format. Each participant will receive a copy of the final proceedings.

Dates (preliminary):

Registration & abstract submission April 30, 2010
Submission May 7, 2010
Acceptance notification June 28, 2010
Camera ready copy due July 12, 2010

Program Committee:

Marcos K. Aguilera Microsoft Research
Soma Chaudhuri Iowa State University
Bogdan Chlebus Univ. of Colorado Denver
Gregory Chockler IBM Research
Rui Fan The Technion
Pascal Felber University of Neuchatel
Paola Flocchini University of Ottawa
Pierre Fraigniaud CNRS and U. Paris Diderot
Peter Kouznetsov TU Berlin/Deutsche Telekom Lab.
Dariusz Kowalski University of Liverpool
Fabian Kuhn University of Lugano, Switzerland
Victor Luchangco Sun Microsystems Labs
Nancy Lynch (Co-Chair) MIT
Yoram Moses The Technion, Israel
Peter Musial University of Puerto Rico
Michel Raynal IRISA, France
Andrea Richa Arizona State University
Alex Shvartsman (Co-Chair) Univ. of Connecticut
Paul Spirakis Research Acad. Computer Tech. Inst.
Robbert van Renesse Cornell University
Jennifer Welch Texas A&M University
Shmuel Zaks Technion, Haifa, Israel

Steering Committee:

Antonio Fernández Anta Universidad Rey Juan Carlos
Chryssis Georgiou University of Cyprus
Idit Keidar Technion
Andrzej Pelc University of Quebec
Sergio Rajsbaum UNAM, Mexico
Nicola Santoro (Chair) Carleton University
Gadi Taubenfeld IDC Herzliya

Comments are closed.

Picture: courtesy of Abby Blank