ICS 2011 Call For Papers

mai, 19, 2010

The Second Symposium on Innovations in Computer Science (ICS 2011) will be held in Beijing, China, January 7-9, 2011, with a welcome reception on January 7.

Innovations in Computer Science (ICS) is a new conference in theoretical computer science (TCS), broadly construed. ICS seeks to promote research that carries a strong conceptual message (e.g., introducing a new concept or model, opening a new line of inquiry within traditional or cross-disciplinary areas, or introducing new techniques or new applications of known techniques). ICS welcomes all submissions, whether aligned with current TCS research directions or deviating from them.

ICS is a public conference designed to run in a workshop-like environment. The event will take place over two-and-a-half days. The total number of papers will be around 30, so as to allow for ample time for open and one-on-one discussions and exchanges of ideas.

Steering Committee: Sanjeev Arora, Manuel Blum, Bernard Chazelle, Oded Goldreich, Shafi Goldwasser, Richard Karp, Silvio Micali, Christos Papadimitriou, Michael Rabin, Madhu Sudan, Leslie Valiant, Umesh Vazirani, Avi Wigderson, Andrew Yao

Camera-ready Version: The authors of accepted papers must ensure that their Latex file uses the class ics.cls (Please download it from the ICS2011 webpage). Papers not following this format may NOT appear in the proceedings. An example of a LaTex file written with this class can be downloaded from the ICS2011 webpage. When compiling the previous example, you should get this PDF file.

In order to compile your file successfully, please make sure that your Latex distribution is updated to its latest version (in particular, the package natlib).

Important Dates:

  • Submission: Monday, August 2, 2010, 23:59, US PDT
  • Notification: Tuesday, October 4, 2010, 23:59, US PDT
  • Final version: Monday, October 25, 2010 23:59, US PDT
  • Conference Date: January 7-9, 2011

Simultaneous Submissions: Material that has been previously published (in a journal or at a conference) or is currently under submission to another conference with proceedings will not be considered for acceptance at ICS 2011.

Poster Sessions: In addition to the above regular papers, ICS welcomes posters on work that authors wish to bring to the attention of the attendees, including work that has been, or will be, published elsewhere. The posters will not appear in the published proceedings of the conference, but will be on display throughout the conference. There will be dedicated sessions during which authors will be invited to present and discuss their posters. Instructions for poster submission may be found at ICS2011 webpage.

Proceedings: The conference proceedings containing all the accepted papers will be published by Tsinghua University Press, Beijing.

Discussion Panels: To enhance interaction among participants, ICS will feature public discussions about the papers. The events will be moderated by panelists who will also offer their own perspectives and reflections regarding the main conceptual messages of the papers. There will be a plenary address by Gil Kalai of Hebrew University.

Financial Support for ICS 2011: ITCS will provide full support for one author of each accepted paper, including air ticket (economy airfare at a reasonable price), hotel lodging (up to 4 nights), and registration fee. In addition, ITCS will also award some travel grants for graduate students (the number and amount of stipends will be determined based on availability of funds).

Program Committee:

  • Bernard Chazelle (Chair), Princeton University
  • Scott Aaronson, MIT
  • Benny Applebaum, Weizmann Institute of Science
  • Maria Florina Balcan, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Moses Charikar, Princeton University
  • Shuchi Chawla, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Ken Clarkson, IBM Almaden Research
  • Erik Demaine, MIT
  • Russell Impagliazzo, University of California, San Diego, and IAS
  • Sanjeev Khanna, University of Pennsylvania
  • Nati Linial, Hebrew University
  • Moni Naor, Weizmann Institute of Science
  • Noam Nisan, Hebrew University
  • Rocco Servedio, Columbia University

Organization Committee:

  • Amy Yuexuan Wang (Chair), Tsinghua University
  • Christophe Tartary, Tsinghua University
  • Xiang Li, Tsinghua University
  • Yuying Chang, Tsinghua University

Comments are closed.

Picture: courtesy of Abby Blank