Qest 2010 – Call For Papers

novembre, 30, 2009

Qest is a conference that I like for many reasons, and here is the call for papers for the 2010 edition of the conference. The conference website is here.

Scope and Topics

The International Conference on Quantitative Evaluation of SysTems (QEST) is the leading forum on evaluation and verification of computer systems and networks, through stochastic models and measurements. QEST has a broad range of interest — the common thread is that the evaluation be quantitative. The range of performance metrics of interest spans classical measures involving performance and reliability, as well as quantification of properties that are classically qualitative, such as safety, correctness, and security. QEST welcomes measurement-based studies as well as analytic studies. QEST welcomes diversity in the model formalisms and methodologies employed, as well as development of new formalisms and methodologies such as quantitative planning for infrastructures. QEST is keenly interested in case studies that highlight the role of quantitative evaluation in the design of “systems”, where the notion of system is broad. Systems of interest include computer hardware and software architectures, communication systems, embedded systems and biological systems. Moreover, tools for supporting the practical application of research results in all of the above areas are of special interest, and therefore tool papers are sought. In short, QEST aims to create a sound methodological basis for assessing and designing systems using quantitative means.

Evaluation of Papers

All submitted papers will be thoroughly judged by at least three reviewers on the basis of their originality, technical quality, scientific or practical contribution to the state of the art, methodology, clarity, and adequacy of references.

QEST considers five types of papers with additional reviewing criteria (in no particular order):

1. Theoretical: advance our understanding, apply to non-trivial problems and be mathematically rigorous.
2. Methodological and technical: describe situations that require the development and proposal of new analysis processes and techniques. Process structure and the individual steps should be clearly described. If the methodology has already been evaluated with applications, a brief description of the lessons learned would be very helpful.
3. Application: describe a non-trivial application, and provide a comparison with previous results, if previously analyzed.
4. Tools: should motivate the development of the new tools and the formalisms they support. Tool papers need not discuss the theoretical properties of the formalisms they are based on, nor details of the algorithms used. Instead, they should focus on the architecture of the software and discuss its practical capabilities with particular reference to the size and type of model it can handle within reasonable time and space limits.
5. Tool demonstration: 2-page papers that describe a relevant tool, as well as its features, evaluation, or any other information that may demonstrate the merits of the tool. All accepted papers need to demonstrate their tool at a dedicated tool session.


We invite submissions of original papers related to the topics of the conference. Submissions must be in English, IEEE double-column format, and must indicate the above paper type. Electronic submission instructions may be found at www.qest.org. Submitted papers should not exceed 10 pages (2 for tool demonstrations). Additional material for the aid of the reviewers (e.g., proofs) can be sent in a clearly marked appendix. Papers must be unpublished and must not be submitted for publication elsewhere. PC members, except program co-chairs, may submit papers. All accepted papers (including tool demonstrations) will appear in the Conference Proceedings published by the IEEE Computer Society Press, and must be presented at the conference by one of the authors. A best-paper award will be presented at the conference. Selected papers will appear in a special issue of the Performance Evaluation Journal. Submissions will be handled by the EasyChair system.

Tool presentations

Sessions will be arranged to present and demonstrate tools relevant to conference topics. Accepted tool descriptions will appear in the conference proceedings.


There will be one day of tutorials at the start of the conference. Tutorial proposals (up to 4 pages IEEE double-column format) should be sent to the Tutorial Chair. The proposal has to indicate motivation, detailed outline, length (90 or 180 minutes) and the proposer’s related expertise. A one page summary of the tutorial will be published in the proceedings.

Invited Speakers

* Joeseph L. Hellerstein, Google, Seattle, WA, USA
* William J. Stewart, North Carolina State University, USA


Abstract submission: 22 March, 2010
Paper and tool submission: 29 March, 2010
Tutorial submission: 26 April, 2010
Author notification: 24 May, 2010
Camera ready version: 14 June, 2010

Chairs and Committees

General Chairs
Peter Kemper (US)
Evgenia Smirni (US)

Program Co-chairs
Gianfranco Ciardo (US)
Roberto Segala (Italy)

Tools Chair
William Knottenbelt (UK)

Tutorials Chair
Susanna Donatelli (Italy)

Local Organization Chair
Ruth Lamprecht (US)

Publicity Chair
Giuliano Casale (UK)

Steering Committee
Gianfranco Balbo (IT)
Gianfranco Ciardo (US)
Pedro D’Argenio (AR)
Boudewijn Haverkort (NL, chair)
Holger Hermanns (DE)
Jane Hillston (UK)
Joost-Pieter Katoen (DE)
William Knottenbelt (UK)
Marta Kwiatkowska (UK)
Gerardo Rubino (FR)
William Sanders (US)
Miklos Telek (HU)

Program Committee
Nathalie Bertrand (FR)
Christel Baier (DE)
Andrea Bondavalli (IT)
Patricia Bouyer (FR)
Peter Buchholz (DE)
Giuliano Casale (UK)
Ivana Cerna (CZ)
Pedro D’Argenio (AR)
Vittoria de Nitto Personè (IT)
Kousha Etessami (UK)
Tony Field (UK)
Giuliana Franceschinis (IT)
Jean-Michel Fourneau (FR)
Shravan Gaonkar (US)
Leana Golubchik (US)
Serge Haddad (FR)
Armin Heindl (DE)
Holger Hermanns (DE)
Jane Hillston (UK)
Michael Huth (UK)
Radha Jagadeesan (US)
Alain Jean-Marie (FR)
Joost-Pieter Katoen (DE)
Peter Kemper (US)
Gabriele Kotsis (AT)
Marta Kwiatkowska (UK)
Kim Larsen (DK)
Ningfang Mi (US)
Andrew Miner (US)
Gethin Norman (UK)
Alma Riska (US)
William Sanders (US)
Matteo Sereno (IT)
Jeremy Sproston (IT)
Mariëlle Stoelinga (NL)
Miklos Telek (HU)
Yann Thierry-Mieg (FR)
Franck van Breugel (CA)
Carey Williamson (CA)
Verena Wolf (DE)
Murray Woodside (CA)

Comments are closed.

Picture: courtesy of Abby Blank